Apollo youth in medicine


Apollo was founded in 2018 by Co-Founders Sean Holly (St Elizabeth Class of 2019), Arjan Kahlon (Charter School of Wilmington Class of 2022), & John Kepley (St Elizabeth Class of 2020). They were joined and supported by Founding Organizations – the Delaware Youth Leadership Network (DYLN) and the Medical Society of Delaware (MSD).

The team was further strengthened by the addition of St. Elizabeth High School counselor Shannon Beck that first year. This team leadership started working in the summer of 2018 and Apollo: Youth in Medicine launched its inaugural Fall 2019 shadow sessions by November 2018 which included 4 high schools and nearly 20 students. This was made possible by seed grant funding by the Delaware Medical Education Fund (DMEF).

After a successful kickoff, the Apollo team expanded to 4 different high schools for the Spring 2019 session and, with an eye to the future, added 2 additional Leadership Team members: Andrew McWilliams (Archmere Class of 2021) and Ruth Wilhelm (Padua Class of 2021).

The final session of the 2018-19 academic year was the Summer 2019 session. The inaugural year of Apollo: Youth In Medicine showed both proof of concept and a community need for the project.

After the successful inaugural year, the program has grown beyond northern Delaware with the intent of becoming the nation’s first state-wide high school physician shadowing program. The DMEF continues to provide grant monies to grow the program for the youth of Delaware.

With great momentum, we are steadily building the backbone of a strong and enduring program for our young Delawareans! Please come back again soon to read the full story of Apollo!